Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Why learning a new language?

What are the real virtues of learning a Foreign Language ?

 

1. Delaying ageing.

Studies have pointed out that adults who are speaking two or more languages have the tendency to obtain better performances on different cognitives tasks and display a weaker cognitive decline when they are ageing. Only because their cognitive reserve was more significant. This cognitive advantage is also linked to neurological basis (a better maintain of the white matter's structure)

Why?
Learning a language put at stake an extremely vast neuron network and numerous cognitive processes are involved: memory work, inductive reasoning, sounds' distinction, capacity to quickly pass from a task to another, learning rules, semantic memory work. Indeed, it is about learning new sounds (phonological contrasts), focusing on a comprehension work, remembering words, matching the “sound” and the “sense”, studying the syntax... and all of it definitely requests the activation of different parts of the brain.

2. Meet new people!

“Language is the road map of a culture. It tells you where its people come from and where they are going” – Rita Mae Brown.

In order to meet new people in a foreign country or in their region, speaking their language is an obvious way to make things easier. And your little "So Frenchy" accent could even delight them!
As for the foreigners who wish to come to France, we can only advise you to learn, at least, some words of our language.

3. Open your mind to the culture of the country.

"Learning another language is not only learning different words for the same things, but learning another way to think about things." – Flora Lewis.

Learning a new language naturally brings you to get interested in its culture. Through the language, we, thereby, understand a manner of thinking, and seeing the world through this region of the globe. We learn how to live differently (as we do as French), we discover other habits, new gastronomy...

4. Quit stereotypes.

"The one who learns the language from a people would not need to fear it" Arabic proverb

Fears, preconceptions, and stereotypes only belong where there is ignorance. Through learning a language, and by the same way, a culture, your vision from a country changes, refines and becomes more realistic.
Teaching to children a second language when they are in elementary school, even in preschool, tends to develop more tolerance towards the "foreigner" and then help their evolution in a globalised society.

5. Develop your patience

Learning a second foreign language takes time. This intellectual exercise tends to develop the patience and the perseverance, characteristics more and more rarest (and yet appreciated) in a society which is seeking to live in "real time".

6. A professional asset

The knowledge of one or more living languages is an undeniable advantage while looking for a job. 

For professionals, speaking, and even reading and writing in another language offers a substantial expansion of their potential market.
In everyday life, in companies, reading in a foreign language (especially in English) permits to benefit from documentary sources much vaster, like so developing its skills and knowledge, and even bringing a differentiating vision to their clients.

7. And of course, travelling easily

"With languages, you are at home anywhere." – Edmund de Waal.

Travelling in a foreign country easily, understanding well the instructions, communicate with the persons met there, not missing anything from the guided tour and even understanding the restaurant menu... there is no doubt that learning a foreign language - or even better, mastering several of them - is like having a pass to the world!

Le 27 Mars 2021.

Quelles sont les vertus réelles de l’apprentissage des Langues Etrangères ?

 

1. Retardez le vieillissement

Des études ont montré que les adultes qui parlent deux ou plusieurs langues ont tendance à obtenir de meilleures performances à différentes tâches cognitives et présentent lors de leur vieillissement un déclin cognitif moins prononcé. Tout simplement parce que leur réserve cognitive était importante. Cet avantage cognitif est de plus corrélé à des bases neurologiques (un meilleur maintien de la structure de la matière blanche).

Pourquoi ?
L’apprentissage d’une langue met en jeu un réseau de neurones très étendu et de nombreux processus cognitifs sont impliqués : travail de la mémoire, raisonnement inductif, discrimination de sons, capacité à passer rapidement d’une tâche à une autre, apprentissage de règles, travail de la mémoire sémantique. En effet, il s’agit d’apprendre de nouveaux sons (contrastes phonologiques), de se focaliser sur un travail de compréhension, de mémorisation de mots, de mise en correspondance du “son” et “sens”, d’étude de la syntaxe … tout cela requiert bel et bien l’activation de différentes zones du cerveau.

2. Faites de nouvelles rencontres !

« Le langage est la feuille de route d’une culture. Il vous indique d’où vient et où va son peuple » – Rita Mae Brown.

Pour rencontrer de nouvelles personnes dans un pays étranger ou dans sa région, parler leur langue est un facilitateur évident. Et votre petit accent “so Frenchy” pourrait même leur plaire beaucoup !
Quant aux étrangers qui souhaiteraient venir en France, nous ne saurions le conseiller d’apprendre au moins quelques mots de notre langue (français, langue étrangère) pour mieux nous rencontrer, n’est-ce pas ?!

3. Ouvrez votre esprit à la culture du pays

« Étudier une autre langue consiste non seulement à apprendre d’autres mots pour désigner les mêmes choses, mais aussi à apprendre une autre façon de penser à ces choses » – Flora Lewis.

Apprendre une nouvelle langue nous amène naturellement à nous intéresser à la culture à laquelle elle est liée. Par la langue, on appréhende ainsi toute une façon de penser, de considérer le monde vu de cette région de la planète. On apprend comment on peut vivre autrement (que comme nous français), on découvre d’autres habitudes, une autre gastronomie …

4. Sortez des idées reçues

“ Celui qui apprend la langue d’un peuple n’aura pas à le craindre ” Proverbe Arabe.

Les peurs, les idées préconçues, les stéréotypes ne demeurent que dans l’ignorance. A travers l’apprentissage d’une langue, et par là-même d’une culture, votre vision du pays se modifie, s’affine et devient plus réaliste.
L’enseignement d’une seconde langue aux enfants dès l’école primaire, voire en maternelle, tend à développer plus de tolérance envers “l’étranger” et facilite ainsi leur évolution dans une société mondialisée.

5. Développez votre patience

L’apprentissage d’une seconde langue étrangère prend du temps. Cet exercice intellectuel tend ainsi à développer la patience et la persévérance, des caractéristiques de plus en plus rares (et pourtant appréciées) dans une société qui cherche à vivre en “temps réel”.

6. Un atout professionnel

La maîtrise d’une ou plusieurs langues vivantes constitue un atout indéniable dans la recherche d’emploi ! 

Pour les professionnels, parler, voire lire et écrire, dans une autre langue, offre un élargissement substantiel de leur marché potentiel.
Au quotidien, dans l’entreprise, lire dans une langue étrangère (en Anglais notamment) permet de bénéficier de sources documentaires bien plus vastes et ainsi, de développer ses compétences, ses connaissances, voire d’apporter une vision différenciatrice à ses clients.

7. Voyagez facilement

« Grâce aux langues, on est chez soi n’importe où » – Edmund de Waal.

Voyager dans un pays étranger facilement, bien appréhender les instructions, communiquer avec les personnes rencontrées, ne rien manquer de la visite guidée et même comprendre la carte du restaurant … à n’en pas douter, apprendre une langue étrangère – mieux, en maîtriser plusieurs – c’est posséder un pass pour le monde !

 

 

Share on facebook
Partager
Share on linkedin
Partager